Zum Inhalt (Access key c)Zur Hauptnavigation (Access key h)Zur Unternavigation (Access key u)

Collection

A view of the District Museum’s storage room

The Wewelsburg District Museum, with its two museum departments, has an extensive collection focus.

The collection consists of objects and documents from the social, economic and cultural history of the Paderborn region as well as from the field of contemporary history. The regional history collection includes archaeological finds from prehistory and early history, an extensive collection of chests from the 16th to the 19th century, valuable religious sculptures and numerous objects from everyday rural life.

In the collection of contemporary history the object testimonies are of particular importance; these document for example the history of the local concentration camp (e.g. camp uniforms, concentration camp letters) and the lives and self-image of the SS men and their families. In addition to many documents (including building plans of the SS) and archival reproductions on the history of the concentration camp and the SS, the collection also includes a digitised collection of contemporary witness interviews, an extensive stock of National Socialist literature and around 4,000 photographs of contemporary history.

Around 20,000 objects are currently inventoried. The collection is housed in air-conditioned storage rooms. A reference library and media library are also available for use. After prior registration, the collections and reference library can be used for research purposes.

Wewelsburg District Museum

Other topics

This website uses session cookies. By continuing to use the website, you agree to their use. You can close this note by clicking on the button. Data privacy

Zum Inhalt (Access key c)Zur Hauptnavigation (Access key h)Zur Unternavigation (Access key u)

Sammlung

Sammlung

Das Kreismuseum Wewelsburg verfügt mit seinen zwei Museumsabteilungen über weitreichende Sammlungsschwerpunkte. 

Die Sammlung umfasst Objekte und Dokumente aus den Bereichen der Sozial-, Wirtschafts- und Kulturgeschichte des Paderborner Landes sowie aus dem Bereich der Zeitgeschichte. Die regionalgeschichtliche Sammlung umfasst u. a. archäologische Funde der Vor- und Frühgeschichte, eine umfangreiche Truhensammlung aus dem 16.-19. Jahrhundert, wertvolle Sakralskulpturen sowie zahlreiche Objekte des ländlichen Alltags. 

In der zeitgeschichtlichen Sammlung sind vor allem die Sachzeugnisse von besonderer Bedeutung, die die Geschichte des hiesigen Konzentrationslagers dokumentieren (z. B. KZ-Uniformen, KZ-Briefe) sowie diejenigen, die die Lebenswelt und das Selbstverständnis der SS-Männer und ihre Familien präsentieren. Die Sammlung umfasst neben zahlreichen Dokumenten (u.a. Baupläne der SS) und archivalischen Reproduktionen zur Geschichte des Konzentrationslagers und der SS auch einen digitalisierten Bestand von Zeitzeugeninterviews, einen umfangreichen Bestand an NS-Literatur sowie ca. 4.000 zeithistorische Fotos.

Derzeit sind rund 20.000 Objekte inventarisiert. Untergebracht ist die Sammlung in klimatisierten Magazinräumen. Eine Präsenzbibliothek und Mediathek ergänzen das Angebot. Nach vorheriger Anmeldung stehen die Sammlungen und die Präsenzbibliothek zu Forschungszwecken zur Verfügung.

Kontakt

Objektokumentation
Cathrin Tegethoff M. A.

Tel:  02955 7622-14
E-Mail senden

Archiv
Markus Moors,
Dipl. Pol./ Dipl. Arch.

Tel: 02955 7622-37
E-Mail senden

Übergang 4

Anschrift

Kreismuseum Wewelsburg
Burgwall 19
33142 Büren-Wewelsburg
Deutschland

Kontakt

Tel. 02955 7622-0
Fax 02955 7622-22
nfwwlsbrgd
Kontaktformular

Diese Webseite verwendet Session-Cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung dieser zu. Erklärung zum Datenschutz