Zum Inhalt (Access key c)Zur Hauptnavigation (Access key h)Zur Unternavigation (Access key u)

The herb garden

Der Kräutergarten

In the castle’s garden, against the backdrop of Wewelsburg Castle, more than 120 different medicinal plants are growing in eight herb beds. They have all been planted in accordance with the list of plants of the Jesuit Garden of Münster and demonstrate the highly developed art of healing of the Jesuit order which also cultivated a “root garden” at its subsidiary in Büren.

The herb garden at the district museum lends itself as a starting or ending point for a tour through the permanent exhibition of the Historicalc Museum of the Prince-Bisphoric of Paderborn in which also parts of the furnishings of the former Jesuit pharmacy of Büren are on display and in which old techniques for the manufacturing of medications can be found out about. As a corresponding group offer, a guided tour regarding the topic of “The Jesuits’ art of healing” can be booked.

Two of the beds have been set up as raised beds for the visually impaired. The herbaceous plants located there can be felt and sensed. Additional information in braille regarding the herbaceous plants can be borrowed at the gatekeepers in the district museum.

See more of

Permanent exhibition

This website uses session cookies. By continuing to use the website, you agree to their use. You can close this note by clicking on the button. Data privacy

Zum Inhalt (Access key c)Zur Hauptnavigation (Access key h)Zur Unternavigation (Access key u)

Der Kräutergarten

Der Kräutergarten

Im Burggarten vor der Kulisse der Wewelsburg gedeihen in den Sommermonaten in acht Kräuterbeeten über 120 verschiedene Heilpflanzen. Sie sind alle nach Pflanzlisten des Jesuitengartens Münster angelegt und demonstrieren die hochentwickelte Heilkunst des Jesuitenordens, der auch in seiner Niederlassung in Büren einen „Wurzgarten“ kultivierte.

Der Kräutergarten des Kreismuseums bietet sich als Ausgangs- oder Endpunkt für einen Rundgang durch die Dauerausstellung des Historischen Museums des Hochstifts Paderborn an, in der auch Einrichtungsteile der einstigen Bürener Jesuitenapotheke zu sehen sind und alte Techniken der Medikamentenherstellung kennengelernt werden können. Als entsprechendes Gruppenangebot kann eine Führung zum Thema „Die Heilkunst der Jesuiten“ gebucht werden.
Zwei der Beete sind als Hochbeete für Sehbehinderte eingerichtet. Die dort befindlichen Kräuterpflanzen können ertastet und erspürt werden. Weitergehende Informationen in Braille-Schrift zu den Kräuterpflanzen können bei den Pförtnern im Kreismuseum ausgeliehen werden.

Weitere Angebote

Daueraustellung

Übergang 4

Anschrift

Kreismuseum Wewelsburg
Burgwall 19
33142 Büren-Wewelsburg
Deutschland

Kontakt

Tel. 02955 7622-0
Fax 02955 7622-22
nfwwlsbrgd
Kontaktformular

Diese Webseite verwendet Session-Cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung dieser zu. Erklärung zum Datenschutz